Understand our story, where we came from, our beliefs and where we're going.

Sydney University Women’s AFL Club (SUWAFLC) was one of the founding clubs of the Sydney Women’s Australian Football League which started in 2000.

Sydney University has earned some great success on the field since that time, winning the premiership in 2001, 2007, 2013 & 2014.   In 2012 the League formed part of the Sydney AFL League for the first time.  2014 was a very successful year for the Club, finishing the season (undefeated) on top of the table and winning the premiership.

The Club has proudly had four Best & Fairest of the League recipients and six players in the 2010 Team of the Decade.

SUWAFLC is closely affiliated with the Sydney University Men’s AFL Club, both of which are governed under the auspices of Sydney University Sport and Fitness.  The top Sydney University’s men’s team competes in the NEAFL, a national 2nd tier AFL competition.

SUWAFLC is at the forefront of development and expansion of women’s AFL throughout N.S.W. The Club is committed to increasing female participation in the sport and fostering the development of novice and experienced players.

The mission of our Club is:

“To coordinate, administer and promote Sydney University Women’s AFL Club, to ensure increasing support and success of the Club on and off the field”.

The fundamental aim is to:

Provide an environment which facilitates female participation in competitive Australian rules Football.
The Club seeks to develop on-field performance by fostering athletic skills, developing AFL abilities and advancing team cohesion. Off-field performance is also a pivotal focus of our Club.   We seek to provide an inclusive, tolerant environment, in which sporting abilities can prosper within a socially welcoming and friendly context.

SUWAFLC is managed by dedicated volunteers and players which creates a great sense of community within the Club. Australian Rules Football is a great game for women and we encourage anyone with interest to come and have a kick with us – no experience necessary!

For further information send an email to our Club President, Olivia Warren at president@suwaflc.com or fill out our contact form.